Greetings From An Entomologist!


I am an entomologist who fell in love with butterflies when they started landing on me when I was three years old.  By the time I was five years old, my parents said that I was telling everyone that I wanted to be an entomologist.  I took my first entomology classes at SUNY Farmingdale in 1969 [now Farmingdale State University, Farmingdale, NY] and was fascinated with them.  I then  transferred to the University of Georgia, Athens, GA, and earned my B.S.A. in Entomology in 1975.

I have been doing my “A Look Into The Insect World” lecture and  slide show to libraries, schools and interested groups for 30 years now.  I use my late father, Philip Bergh’s, best slides in a short talk about the growth and development of commonly seen insects.   I also talk about my general collection [mostly collected between New York and Georgia] and my Augusta area insect collection.

Over the years I have shortened the slide show and added a short talk about and my venomous insects and arthropods collection to my lecture.   I have also drawn handouts about medically important and venomous arthropods and insects found in my area to my talks, so that the families attending will have a reference sheet about what to do should they encounter any of these potentially dangerous animals.

Lately, I have been developing a Pre-K version of my talk for my youngest students.  I have been enlarging and printing slides by the topics used in Pre-K classes.  I can now show groups of insects by their colors and shapes and can show how insects camouflage themselves and how insects in various stages of their lives can look like totally different and inanimate objects.

I am very fortunate that at age 59, I have lost none of my love for insects, and each year have a new group of children that are interested in them.   It is a wonderful experience to be able to share my knowledge and enthusiasm about insects with new and returning folks each year!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Greetings From An Entomologist!”

  1. brownewellentomologyproject Says:

    Hi,

    I hate to be a bother, but I’m working on a knowledge database for the internet involving insects. I was wondering if you could take a look or pass the site along to people you know who may be interested.
    The site is:
    http://BrownewellPhotography.com/entomology.html

    I’m a photographer first with an interest in bugs so I’m not involved with any sort of entomologists. This makes my project a bit tough to complete.

    Thanks for any thoughts that you may have.

    Pat Brownewell

    • insectlady Says:

      Dear Pat,

      Thank you for contacting me! I will be happy to help you out. I will certainly go to your website and check it out.

      Although I haven’t yet gone to your website, I have already put your note as a discussion in the LinkedIn “Insects and Entomology Group” discussion page. In case you are not familiar with it, LinkedIn is a business networking site with millions of members in all types of industries and academic fields. And, they have many groups you can join where you can meet people with interests similar to yours. You might also be interested in the “Women In Photography Group” that I also am a member of- and I can put your message in this groups discussion page too. I am the manager of the “Insects and Entomology Group”, and I would be delighted if you should become a member of the group too. There are over 160 members in the Entomology group, and over 9,695 in the Photography group, so there there is bound to be a response to your message.

      I hope that this will help you out on your project. Please keep me updated as to how your project is progressing.

      Sincerely,

      Bettina Bergh

Leave a Reply

